tough night.

from the nurse who told me i couldn’t cover my head and then took it back, today at work when she got called in to work a 12 on the floor:

“I don’t know what religion you are or for what god you’re covering your head, and I really don’t care, but PRAY HARDER!”

My immediate response was to start the “Prayer for the Aged” from the BCP.

Look with mercy, O God our Father, on all whose increasing years bring them weakness, distress or isolation. Provide for them homes of dignity and peace; give them understanding helpers, and the willingness to accept help; and, as their strength diminishes, increase their faith and their assurance of your love. This we ask in the name of  Jesus Christ, our Lord. Amen.

I realize that this was not exactly the prayer for help for us as workers, but when days are hard for me (often because they are hard days for the residents) when I see a call light go off, I start walking towards it and saying this prayer. When I get to the part about “give them understanding helpers” I am frantically pointing at me and following that up with “and the willingness to accept help” I frantically point towards the room. Okay so sometimes the frantic pointing is in my head, but it is never-the-less real.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

