victory is almost mine…

So, I thought I would post something completely different and somewhat celebratory.

When I came home from the Yemen in December 2007 one of the first things I did was buy shampoo, conditioner and a bottle of liquid soap. Sounds pretty responsible, right? I knew I would be living alone in my Mom’s house and thought that I should have some of the essentials. I get home, pleased with my selection. I use some of it, when all of a sudden I realized just how much stuff my mom has left in the house, including bath things.

I then resolved not to buy any more shampoo, conditioner or body soap until all of it in the cupboard was used up. I figured that there was a lot of it in there; it would probably last oh, six months or so. I also figured I would be saving myself some money and shopping time by not buying anything new in that area until June-ish.

Then, all of a sudden it was June. And it looked like I hadn’t even put a dent in it. Sure, I had moved through some bars of soap and finished a few bottles of shampoo and conditioner, but I had seriously underestimated the amount of buildup that living in the same house for 20 years can bring.  “A few more months,” I said to myself and plugged along, using a bit more as my hair grew longer.

And then it was December 2008. A whole year had passed. I was still working on all of the stuff in the cabinet. I kept the bottles I had bought a year ago on the tub to use intermittently when I wanted to have a cohesive “smell” or whatever. The cabinet was beginning to clear a bit. But there was still SO MUCH!

And now it’s April, and I can finally see the light at the end of the Shampoo Tunnel. I’m down to an almost empty bottle of baby shampoo and some odds and ends of travel shampoos plus the original one I bought over a year ago. I think Shampoo shopping is probably less than a month away. Victory is almost mine!

Conditioner and soap is a completely different story. I wouldn’t be surprised if they kept going until June or longer. We will see. Only time will tell.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

