nativity of st. john the baptist.

Last semester, towards the end of the semester, one of my psychology classmates and I were talking before class. He asked me, “From all your travels, what truth have you learned?” And I was floored. I don’t think of what truth I have learned. I think about those trips in finding, learning and experiencing beauty, not truth. And definitely not Truth, as I understood he meant it.

I’m not sure if that’s just the way my mind/body/soul work or what, but the thought of “Truth” in my travels never ever occured to me.

So, I was dumfounded last Wednesday, as I sat in church for the feast of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist and saw, once again, how amazingly beautiful our church is and my thoughts were on Truth. Yes, our church is beautiful, but what truth is there in here? What truth is there in our liturgy? What truth is there in our tradition? What truth is there in our Bible?

I just don’t know.

I am very frustrated, with a lot of things. Don’t get me wrong, I still intend to continue worshipping in my church. I think there is great truth there, along with its great beauty. It’s just that I can’t see it right now.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “nativity of st. john the baptist.”

  1. Spring Says:

    One reason I am an Episcopal groupie is that a prevailing message seems to be: if we hang together and do our lives in the spirit of with which Jesus described, we can help transmit God’s love and better us all – all humankind. I hope I haven’t derived a wrong message, but that seems like a great big fat chunk of truth to me. It resonates. Other bodies have that truth as well, but they make it a key thing.

Leave a Reply

