*sigh* coworkers.

So, I mentioned to a coworker that I got in to nursing school, in a fairly large city. She said something along the lines of “I wouldn’t want to move there, it’s so much more expensive.” And then spent some time describing how dangerous the city is.

I paused and for a few minutes kinda let this get to me. And then I thought to myself, “Fuck them! I lived in Yemen!” Really, I’m going to let a few people saying how dangerous an American city is affect my life? Because if I did that, I wouldn’t have gone to Morocco or Yemen. I wouldn’t be planning on returning to the Middle East or have the Russia dream I have now. I want to work in the Rural Middle East. Heck, if I listened to some people around here, I probably wouldn’t have started covering because it might be dangerous.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “*sigh* coworkers.”

  1. Elle Says:

    Fuck them all, I lived there seven years and didn’t get so much as mugged. You made it through Yemen. Just stay away from North City and you’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

