masjid time.

I am officially an effed up spiritual wanderer. I wonder when the intention isn’t good enough and the fact that I have attended a service from all three Abrahamic faiths in ~8 days just makes me a spiritual voyeur.

A while back I made my Arabic instructor from several years ago promise to teach me how to pray. I reminded her a couple weeks ago about it and she’s like “What better time than Ramadan to learn?” Indeed. What better time? So, Saturday I went with her and a few other people (mostly students) to the Islamic Center, they broke their fast, I just ate. And then we prayed. Or, I did the motions and they prayed. Then the meal. And then more praying. Then we broke down the prayers together. It was really nice.

And now I’m practicing at home. What does that make me? Well, I’m not a Muslim. I just pray like one sometimes. Jesus & I have some problems. Or rather, I have some problems and Jesus is there and I like to make conclusions that aren’t causal, but I’m totally not jumping ship. I’m gonna stick with “I’m a Christian who doesn’t know quite what she believes” for now.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

