Wednesday Night

So, I fail at being a normal human being. I think I need remedial lessons on how to talk to clergy.

I decided to go to the local Episcopal church this evening for Eucharist. After the service the minister came up to me and tried to have a conversation, but I apparently am pretty damn good at shutting those things down. She asked where I was from, and I told her. Then she asked if I went to the Episcopal church there and I said something along the lines of, “No. … Well, I went a few times, but I didn’t much care for it there… You know?” And it was apparent she did NOT know.

Then another man piped up with “Isn’t that were Trinity Episcopal is?” “No, actually there is ” and I list off the four Episcopal churches I know are there. Which is apparently an odd answer. Whatevs.

And from there, it just went downhill. In retrospect, I should have mentioned that I’d gone to the Episcopal church for a long time before moving to Springfield and that none of the ones there were a good “fit” for me. Whatever that means. But it was fairly obvious I had been to an Episcopal service before, was

One Response to “Wednesday Night”

  1. dana Says:

    ah, it’s like i’m back in college. Leaving paragraphs in the middle of a sentence…

Leave a Reply

